Wednesday, 9 March 2016

NNPC Offices shut down nationwide following President Buhari's orders to divide company

This action by the oil workers is actually an outcome to Tuesday’s order by President Muhammadu Buhari that the petroleum corporation be divided into seven units.

The report suggested that members of staff and management of the corporation arrived on Wednesday morning and were not granted access to their various offices but were subsequently asked to return home as oil workers enforce total strike.

Dr Ibe Kachikwu, Nigeria’s minister of state for Petroleum Resources, had on Tuesday, March 8, informed that new units would be headed by Chief Executive Directors (CEOs) who were also approved by the president. Bello Rabiu for Upstream; Henry Ikem-Onih (downstream); Anibor Kragha (Refineries); Saudu Mohammed (Gas & Power), while Babatunde Adeniran (Ventures) are the five people said to be in charge of the new units while the two other units are dedicated to those for Upstream, Downstream, Gas & Power, Refineries, Ventures, Corporate Planning & Services and Finance and Accounts.

Meanwhile, Dr Kachikwu noted Tuesday, also, that Nigeria will stop importing petroleum products in 18 months’ time. This, he explained, is because there are ongoing discussions with new joint venture partners to build refineries in addition to the four existing refineries in Kaduna, Warri and Port Harcourt.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...