Friday, 8 April 2016

ECOWAS Commission gets a new president, vice president and 7 commissioners

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Commission was partially updated as new members including president, vice president and 7 new commissioners has joined the organization.

Kadre Desire Ouedraogo, who was presiding over the commission for four years, has officially handed over power to his successor Mr Marcel Alain de Souza of Republic of Benin.

The ceremony of welcoming new members of the group took place in Abuja on Friday, April 8. The outgoing president described his successor as a “worthy son of West Africa and one with a distinguished and rich career.” Edward Singhatey of the Gambia has become the new vice president of the ECOWAS Commission.

De Souza was born on October 20, 1953 at Pobè in the Republic of Benin. He holds a Master’s Degree in Economics from the University of Dakar as well as a specialized Master’s Degree in Management and Banking at the West African Training Centre for Banking Studies (COFEB) completing his training at the IMF Institute in Washington.

He was formerly the Internal Controller at Banque Centrale des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest-Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO) head office in Cotonou. He rose to become national Director and Director of Administration at the bank headquarters in Dakar.

He had also served as Head of Department of Economic and Financial Affairs in the Office of the President of the Republic of Benin before he was appointed as Special Adviser to the President of the Republic of Benin on Monetary and Banking Affairs and later the minister for Development, Economic Analysis and Forecast from 28 May 2011 to 15 June 2015. Besides, prior to his appointment as the President of the ECOWAS Commission, he has been a Member of Parliament of the Benin National Assembly since June 2015.

 The new commissioners include: commissioner for education, science and culture, commissioner for infrastructure, commissioner for macroeconomic policy and the commissioner for trade customs and free movement, commissioner for political affairs, peace and security, the commissioner for finance and the commissioner of agriculture, environment and water resources. 

It would be recalled that the ECOWAS is a regional group of fifteen West African countries, whose mission is to promote economic integration across the region.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...