Sunday, 10 April 2016

Nwodu, Worgu and Others defect to APC

More defections hit opposition party- Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as former national chairman Okwesilieze Nwodo; former Minister of Labour, Emeka Worgu and former House of Representatives Speaker, Agunwa Anakwe join the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Senators Emma Agboti, Chris Adighije, Nkechi Nwogu and Ifeanyi Ararume also promised to take over governance of Enugu come 2019 for the APC.

On hand to welcome the defectors were chieftains of the APC in South-East comprising the national vice-chairman and convener of the meeting, Emma Eneukwu; national organising secretary of the party, Senator Osita Izunaso and others. Eneukwu while addressing the gathering stated they are making efforts to reposition the party in the South-East. 

He pointed out that that most of the juicy positions due for the South-East were “being denied us because of our poor performance in 2015 elections”. “With the array of prominent politicians from South-East joining us now, we shall work hard this time and turn things around,” he added. 

“The South-East APC supports the anti-corruption crusade of President Muhammadu Buhari and we urge Mr. President to go ahead and recover all looted public funds. 

“We call on the groups agitating for separation from a united Nigeria, particularly, the IPOB and MASSOB to re-think and abandon the idea and join the other tribes in building a formidable united Nigeria where all Nigerians will be equally treated in line with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“We believe by 2023, the president of a united Nigeria will be a Nigerian of Igbo extraction from the South-East.” 

Okwesilieze Nwodo was the governor of Enugu state in January 1992 during the Nigerian Third Republic. Later he became a senior politician in PDP. 

While Wogu served as a minister in regime of Ex- president Goodluck Jonathan.

Source- The Nation

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...